Wayne Rooney 'proud' of fans' Player of the Year award

Thursday 08 Jan 2015
Wayne Rooney thanks the fans for voting him their Player of the Year

Wayne Rooney has thanked England's fans after being named their Player of 2014.

The Three Lions skipper played in every game for Roy Hodgson's side last year, top-scoring with eight goals and also reached his century of international caps.

The Manchester United forward was the clear winner, receiving the majority of votes from members of the England Supporters Club to be crowned Vauxhall England Player of the Year.

Wayne Rooney penalty

Wayne Rooney scored on his 100th appearance against Slovenia

Rooney has now won the award three times – more than any other player – after he scooped the prize in 2008 and 2009.

The 29-year-old said: "I'm both very happy and proud to be named the England fans' Player of the Year.

"The fact that this award is chosen by the fans makes it even more special, so I would like to thank all those who voted.

“I'm both very happy and proud to be named the England fans' Player of the Year”

Wayne Rooney 

"I would also like to thank all the England fans for their support throughout what was a mixed year. 

"They have stuck by us since the World Cup, we have managed to win every game since and are in the best possible position for European qualification."

He continued: "Receiving an honour such as this from the fans is always something that fills you with personal pride. 

"But it is important to point out that without the support of my team mates, coaching and backroom staff such an award would not be possible.

"I therefore accept this from the fans on behalf of every single member of the England team."

Rooney was handed the England captaincy by boss Roy Hodgson in September, following the international retirement of Steven Gerrard.

He then went on to win his 100th cap for his country in their 3-1 victory over Slovenia in November. 

England Player of the Year - Previous Winners

  • 2003: David Beckham
  • 2004: Frank Lampard
  • 2005: Frank Lampard
  • 2006: Owen Hargreaves
  • 2007: Steven Gerrard
  • 2008: Wayne Rooney
  • 2009: Wayne Rooney
  • 2010: Ashley Cole
  • 2011: Scott Parker
  • 2012: Steven Gerrard

But the 29-year-old says wearing the armband as England won six consecutive games is the thing he will remember most about 2014. 

"The highlight of the year for me has to be being named captain." said Rooney. 

"It's a huge honour just to play for your country so to be named England captain was a dream come true and something I take great pride in doing.

"Another highlight has to be walking out with my kids on my 100th cap, that was a special moment."

He added: "For 2015 I just hope that we carry on the form we have shown in the last few games and secure qualification for the European Championship."

Rooney will be presented with his award ahead of England's next game against Lithuania, which is at Wembley on 27 March. To get tickets for the game, click here...

The Three Lions captain and Manchester United forward lands the award


By Jamie Bradbury FA Editor