The FA Disability Cup 2024: six exhilarating finals

Saturday 29 Jun 2024

The FA Disability Cup in association with EE sees some of the best para footballers in the country compete in six finals across two days, with all the matches being shown live on TNT Sport and streamed for free on discovery+.

The 2024 finals, which are the largest competition of its kind, ensure players within impairment-specific football have a national FA competition to call their own with a total of six formats of the game competing.

Day one involved the Amputee Cup Final, Partially Sighted Cup Final, and Blind Cup Final. Day two showcased the Cerebral Palsy Cup Final, Powerchair Cup Final and Deaf Cup Final.

Saturday 29 June

Amputee Cup Final (kick-off 10am)

Everton FC 2-3 Portsmouth FC

It was Portsmouth who lifted the first trophy of the FA Disability Cup weekend after an enthralling 3-2 win over Everton.

Rhyce Ramsden opened the scoring for Everton within two minutes, beating his marker and tucking a strike under the goalkeeper.

Che Gray then pulled one back for Portsmouth with a spectacular curling effort. Jamie Tregaskiss then put Portsmouth into the lead with a long range deflected effort.

Everton then missed a chance to equalise from a spot-kick, yet TJ Yates extended Portsmouth's lead with a powerful header from a corner.

Sean Jackson pulled one back for Everton in stoppage time, but Portsmouth held on to lift the trophy.

Partially Sighted Cup (kick-off 12.15pm)

Birmingham Futsal 0-1 Scorpions Futsal

Scorpions edged a thrilling Partially Sighted Cup Final 1-0 at St. George’s Park.

Both sides forged a number of chances to open the deadlock, but the defences stood firm.

However, Adam Lione's drilled strike into the bottom corner in the remaining minutes sealed the trophy for the Scorpions.

Blind Cup Final (kick-off 2.15pm)

The Royal National College for the Blind 2-3 West Bromwich Albion Blind FC

West Brom lifted the Blind Cup trophy, after an eventful final.

Azeem Amir opened the scoring for RNC, working a great set-piece into the side of the goal.

Paul Iyobo drilled in a leveller for West Brom, yet Amir returned RNC's lead with some silky footwork before a stunning finish.

Iyobo then pegged one back again with a powerful effort, and was given the opportunity to score his hat-trick from the spot, which he took with aplomb.

After a red card for RNC, Iyobo missed from the spot, but his hat-trick was enough to see West Brom hold on for the victory.

Sunday 30 June

Cerebral Palsy Cup Final (kick-off 9.30am)

Chelsea Foundation 3-6 Norwich City Community Sports Foundation FC

Day two started with a goal-fest in the Cerebral Palsy Cup Final.

It was a disappointing start for Chelsea, with an own-goal scored within six minutes, and then Norwich City's Josh Wilde finished emphatically off the bar.

Chelsea then scored another own goal, and Norwich's Ben Armstrong stretched the lead to four with his first-touch strike after coming on as a substitute.

Finn Pitchers open the scoring for Chelsea at 45 minutes, but Bradley Taylor-Buglione slotted home moments later to make it 5-1.

Chelsea responded with a curling strike, and then a Pitchers converted penalty, but Liam Irons tapped home from close range to secure the trophy for Norwich City.

Powerchair Cup Final (kick-off 11.25am)

Aspire PFC 0-2 West Bromwich Albion PFC

Marcus Harrison sealed the title for West Bromwich Albion with the game's final touch.

Valentino Zegarelli opened the scoring for West Brom, underlining their terrific start.

Zegarelli and Harrison had further opportunities in the game, but Aspire's defences stood firm until the final seconds.

Deaf Cup Final (kick-off 1.15pm)

Farsley Celtic Deaf FC 1-2 St John's Deaf FC

In a close contest, St John's edged Farsley Celtic to retain the Deaf Cup trophy.

St John's opened the scoring, and Byron Down doubled their lead on 30 minutes.

Farsley pulled one back through Joe Dixon with 18 minutes left, but despite hitting the bar in the final foray, Farsley could not find the equaliser and St John's held on for the win.

By FA Staff