We've had a record number of nominations for 2020 FA & McDonald's Grassroots Awards

Friday 29 May 2020
Ali and Asha of Really Real FC were winners in the 2019 FA and McDonalds Grassroots Awards

Our judges will have no shortage in choice for the 2020 FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards, following a record number of nominations.

When the nominations period closed earlier this month, there was a total of 4761 nominations made across the ten categories which is over 600 more and a 14 per cent increase from the 2019 number.

For over ten years now, the awards have recognised and celebrated leagues, clubs, coaches, players, match officials and volunteers that go over and above when it comes to football in their local community.

And County FAs across the country are now narrowing down their nominations to make sure their local heroes are in with a shout of recognition for 2020.

Sheffield & Hallamshire received the most nominations with 304, an increase of 180 nominations from last year while Huntingdonshire, Jersey, London, Suffolk and Surrey all received doubled the amount of nominations they received last year.

The Mid Lancs Colts won the Grassroots League of the Year last time around, but who might follow them this year?

Once the local winners have been selected, these will then form our national nominations in which a judging panel will meet in July to determine the winners across the ten categories as well as the Bobby Moore award winner.

Nominations were received in the following categories, so a big thank-you to everyone who put forward their favourites.

• Grassroots Coach of the Year (Adult Team);
• Grassroots Coach of the Year (Youth Team);
• Project of the Year;
• Rising Star of the Year;
• Grassroots Volunteer of the Year;
• Grassroots Match Official of the Year;
• Grassroots League of the Year;
• Grassroots Club of the Year;
• Grounds Team of the Year;
• We Only Do Positive Respect Award.

Regional winners will be announced by their respective County FA from 23 June 2020 and go on to be considered for both a national version of their award and the prestigious Bobby Moore award by a bespoke panel on 2 July 2020. 

By Nicholas Veevers