England Futsal squad named for three World Cup qualifiers in Latvia

Monday 21 Jan 2019
England Futsal head coach Michael Skubala

Michael Skubala has named a long squad to travel to Latvia at the end of the month for three UEFA European qualifiers for the 2020 FIFA Futsal World Cup.

England have been drawn in Group A alongside Cyprus, Gibraltar and the host nation and will play three games between 30 January and 2 February.

There are call-ups for professional Futsal players William Wallace and Mark Croft while Liam Palfreeman, who has recently signed a professional deal with UA Cueti, has also been included.

The qualifiers will take place at the Zemgales Olympic Centre in Jelgava with England seeded No2 in the group, behind Latvia.

Skubala said: “We are prepared and ready, but we know all three games are going to be tough.

“Every international Futsal game is tough and can turn on a knife edge but the carrot is so exciting for the senior players to get through to the next round and be in a group with Italy or Portugal.

“The players have been working really hard to be mentally and physically ready for qualifiers and we have tested ourselves against some top nations to really challenge and stretch ourselves, so we are hoping all that competitive learning will pay dividends but friendlies and competitive environments as we know are just not the same.”

All games kick-off at 5pm and the Futsal Lions kick-off against Gibraltar on Wednesday 30 January before playing Cyprus the following day. The final game with hosts Latvia is on Saturday 2 February.


Mark Croft (Guardia Perticara), Jonny Sim (Helvecia Futsal Club), Dylan Malpas (Birmingham Futsal Club), Stuart Cook (Helvecia Futsal Club), Raoni Medina (Helvecia Futsal Club), Richard Ward (Helvecia Futsal Club), James Webb (Futsal Club Gambette), Calvin Dickson (Helvecia Futsal Club), Robbie Bettson (York City Futsal Club), Liam Palfreeman (UA Cueti), Doug Reed (Sussex Futsal Club), Will Rooke (Loughborough Futsal Club), William Wallace (Toulouse Metropole FC Bruguieres), Russell Goldstein (Helvecia Futsal Club), Dean Withers (Birmingham Futsal Club), Agon Rexha (FC Besa Futsal).

By FA Staff