Youth Teams
Youth Teams

England squad named for opening round of UEFA Women's U19 qualifiers

Monday 24 Sep 2018
Emily Ramsey (left) and Esme Morgan (right) are both included in Rehanne Skinner's squad

Rehanne Skinner has named her England squad for the first qualifying round of the UEFA Women’s U19 Championship in Croatia.

The Young Lionesses face Malta (on Monday 1 October), the host nation (on Thursday 4 October) and Slovakia (on Sunday 7 October), with all matches being played in Varazdin.

Fresh from helping England finish third at last month’s FIFA U20 Women's World Cup, Manchester United keeper Emily Ramsey and Manchester City defender Esme Morgan are both included while Leicester City and Millwall Lionesses boast two representatives respectively.

On naming the 20-player squad, Skinner said: “The upcoming qualifying campaign in Croatia will be a fantastic experience, something we are all looking forward to. We face three different challenges which will provide us with key learning and development opportunities.

“Selecting an England team is always a huge privilege and a positive challenge given the ever increasing level of talent.

“This squad has a good blend of youth international experience and emerging talent excited about the opportunity to represent their country in this campaign.”

The top two sides in every group plus the two third-placed teams with the best record against the top two in their section will join Spain and France in the elite round draw on Friday 23 November.

Seven teams will eventually qualify to join hosts Scotland in next summer’s finals.

The finals will act as UEFA's qualifier for the 2020 FIFA U20 Women's World Cup.

The squad:

Emily Ramsey (Manchester United), Hannah Hampton (Birmingham City), Niamh Cashin (Rider University), Shannon Cooke (Louisiana State University), Esme Morgan (Manchester City), Poppy Pattinson (Bristol City), Georgia Eaton-Collins (University of Florida), Olivia Smith (Oklahoma University), Charlotte Greengrass (Leicester City), Aimee Palmer (Manchester United), Sophia Pharoah (Brighton & Hove Albion), Amy Rodgers (Liverpool), Jessica Naz (Tottenham Hotspur), Kate Wiseman* (University of North Alabama), Sophie Domingo (Leicester City), Lucy Fitzgerald (Millwall Lionesses), Nicole Douglas (Arizona State University), Jessica Park (Manchester City), Gabriella Ravenscroft (Millwall Lionesses), Hannah Griffin (FC Saarbrücken).

* replaced Emily Syme (Yeovil Town)

By FA Staff