Women's Senior
Women's Senior

Phil Neville names youthful team to face Kazakhstan in final World Cup qualifier

Monday 03 Sep 2018
England's would-be full debutants pose for a photo in Kazakhstan

Seven England players will make their full international debuts on Tuesday.

The Lionesses secured qualification to the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup with victory over Wales on Friday evening and now face Kazakhstan in their final group match.

And head coach Phil Neville has named his starting 11 for tomorrow’s match in Pavlodar.

Kazakhstan v England
  • 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup
  • Group 1 qualifier
  • 4pm BST, Tuesday 4 September
  • in Pavlodar, Kazakhstan
Gabby George, Lucy Staniforth and Lauren Bruton are set to earn their maiden senior team caps while Mary Earps, Hannah Blundell, Leah Williamson and Beth Mead will make their first starts.

Neville said: “There's so much depth of talent now in the women's game in England.

“I’m determined to give youngsters the opportunity.

“They’ve earned it, they deserve it and regardless of the result against Wales this was always part of our long-term plan.

“We’re all looking forward to the game.”

England team: Mary Earps, Hannah Blundell, Leah Williamson, Abbie McManus, Gabby George, Keira Walsh, Isobel Christiansen, Lucy Staniforth, Lauren Bruton, Rachel Daly, Beth Mead.

By FA Staff