There are three new faces named in England squad to face Croatia and Spain in October

Thursday 04 Oct 2018
England face a double away trip in October, with UEFA Nations League games in Croatia and Spain

Gareth Southgate has named a 25-man squad for England’s upcoming UEFA Nations League games in Croatia and Spain.

Southgate, who earlier today extended his contract with The FA until 2022, has given three players their first-ever call-ups to the senior team.

James Maddison steps up from the U21s squad, having scored three goals in seven games since joining Leicester City in the summer.

Jamas Maddison, in action for the U21s in Norwich last month, has been called up for the seniors for the first time

Also promoted from Aidy Boothroyd’s group is Chelsea’s Mason Mount, who trained with the Three Lions ahead of the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals and has impressed on loan at Derby County this season.

Jadon Sancho, who was representing England at the FIFA U17 World Cup Finals in India this time last year, is rewarded for his promising start to the season with Bundesliga leaders Borussia Dortmund.

Ross Barkley returns to the fold after a two-year absence, while Nathaniel Chalobah and Harry Winks are recalled following their respective recoveries from long-term injuries. Raheem Sterling, who missed September’s home games against Spain and Switzerland with a back problem, also reclaims his place in the squad.

Jadon Sancho in action for England U19s against the Netherlands at St. George's Park in September

The Three Lions – who currently sit second in group A4 of the Nations League – face third-placed Croatia in Rijeka on Friday 12 October, before taking on leaders Spain in Seville on Monday 15 October.

England’s next home game is against the United States at Wembley Stadium on Thursday 15 November and tickets remain on sale for that game.

England squad to face Croatia & Spain

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Marcus Bettinelli (Fulham), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Nathaniel Chalobah (Watford), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Alex McCarthy (Southampton), Mason Mount (on loan at Derby County from Chelsea), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), John Stones (Manchester City), James Tarkowski (Burnley), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur)

By FA Staff