Youth Teams
Youth Teams

A late equaliser denied ten-man England victory over the Netherlands in Pinatar

Thursday 15 Nov 2018
Tyreece John-Jules was on the scoresheet again to put England U18s ahead against the Dutch

England U18s were held to a 2-2 draw by the Netherlands in the first game of their mini tournament in Spain.

It took an equaliser in the last minute to deny the Young Lions, who played for the majority of the game with ten men after goalkeeper Luca Ashby-Hammond was sent off after just six minutes for handling outside his area.

That meant Anthony Gordon had to be sacrificed, with Arthur Okonkwo coming on to replace Ashby-Hammond in goal.

But the Young Lions didn’t let that affect them too much and they took the lead in the 13th minute when Tyreece John-Jules converted from the penalty spot.

Four minutes later, England doubled their lead and it was a debut goal for Rochdale midfielder Daniel Adshead before the Dutch reduced the arrears through Marouan Azarkan.

And it looked as though England were set to get their week off to a winning start before the Oranje found an equaliser via Joshua Zirkee from the penalty spot in the 81st minute.

England U18s: 1 Luca Ashby-Hammond (Fulham), 2 Vontae Daley-Campbell (Arsenal), 3 Luke Thomas (Leicester City), 5 Pascal Kpohomouh (Southampton), 6 Nathaniel Ogbeta (Manchester City), 7 Arvin Appiah (Nottingham Forest), 8 Faustino Anjorin (Chelsea), 9 Tyreece John-Jules (Arsenal), 10 Anthony Gordon (Everton), 11 Curtis Jones (Liverpool), 16 Daniel Adshead (Rochdale)

Substitutes: 22 Arthur Okonkwo (Arsenal) for Gordon 7,15 Bali Mumba (Sunderland) for Adshead 73, 17 Paris Maghoma (Tottenham Hotspur) for Anjorin 73, 14 Folarin Balogun (Arsenal) for Jones 82

Substitutes not used: 13 Marcus Dewhurst (Sheffield United), 4 Clinton Mola (Chelsea), 12 Luis Binks (Tottenham Hotspur), 18 J'Neil Lloyd-Bennett (Tottenham Hotspur), 19 Morgan Whittaker (Derby County)

Head coach: Neil Dewsnip

Goals: Tyreece John-Jules (p) 13, Daniel Adshead 17

Cautions: Arthur Okonkwo 70, Vontae Daley-Campbell 79, Folarin Balogun 89

Red cards: Luca Ashby-Hammond 6

By FA Staff