An introduction to The FA's women's leagues and competitions

Wednesday 29 Jul 2020
Chelsea were named the 2019-20 FA WSL title winners

The FA took over the running of the women’s game in 1993 and with almost three million registered players, football is now the top participation sport for women and girls in England.

The FA run a number of women’s competitions at the elite level, from the Barclays FA Women’s Super League (FA WSL) to the Women’s FA Cup and all the latest news can be found on a new, dedicated leagues and competitions website.

Barclays FA WSL

The FA Women’s Super League was restructured and re-branded ahead of the 2018-19 season.

Now fully professional, it is a 12-team competition for the top teams in the country.

The season has moved to a more traditional football calendar with matches taking place from September.

In March 2019, Barclays was unveiled as the league’s title sponsor with effect from the 2019-20 season.

Barclays FA WSL in 2020-21:

Aston Villa
Birmingham City
Brighton & Hove Albion
Bristol City
Manchester City
Manchester United
Tottenham Hotspur
West Ham United

FA Women’s Championship

The FA Women’s Championship, launched in 2018, comprises 11 semi-professional teams, with promotion open to the team that finishes top of the division at the end of the season.

FA Women’s Championship in 2019-20:

Blackburn Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Coventry United
Crystal Palace
Leicester City
London Bees
London City Lionesses
Sheffield United

Women’s FA Cup

The Football Association Women's Challenge Cup Competition, now known as the Women’s FA Cup, began in 1970 and is the largest and most prestigious domestic knockout competition within the women’s game.

Clubs are eligible to enter the competition provided they compete in the top division of a women’s county league or higher and more than 260 clubs regularly enter annually.

In 2015, The Final was played at Wembley Stadium for the first time reflecting the incredible growth in interest in the women’s game, attracting a then record crowd of 30,710.

The Final attendance has grown year-on-year since, with the 2019 Final between Manchester City and West Ham United attracting a new record crowd of 43,264.

FA Women’s National League

The third and fourth tiers of the women’s pyramid, the FA Women’s National League, comprises six divisions: Northern Premier Division, Southern Premier Division, Division 1 North, Division 1 Midlands, Division 1 South East, Division 1 South West.

Northern Premier in 2019-20:

Derby County
Huddersfield Town
Hull City
Loughborough Foxes
Nottingham Forest
Sheffield FC
Stoke City
Sunderland AFC
West Bromwich Albion

Southern Premier in 2019-20:

Cardiff City
Chichester City
Crawley Wasps
Keynsham Town
MK Dons
Oxford United
Plymouth Argyle
Yeovil Town

Division One Midlands in 2019-20:

Bedworth United
Birmingham & West Mids
Burton Albion
Doncaster Rovers Belles
Leafield Athletic
Leicester United
Long Eaton United
Lincoln City (Nettleham)
Solihull Moors
Sporting Khalsa
The New Saints
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Division One North in 2019-20:

Bolton Wanderers
Bradford City
Brighouse Town
Chester le Street
Durham Cestria
Leeds United
Liverpool Feds
Newcastle United
Norton & Stockton
Stockport County

Division One South East in 2019-20:

AFC Wimbledon
Billericay Town
AFC Basildon
Cambridge City
Cambridge United
Enfield Town
Ipswich Town
Kent United
Leyton Orient
Norwich City

Division One South West in 2019-20:

Buckland Athletic
Cheltenham Town
Chesham United
Exeter City
Larkhall Athletic
Maidenhead Utd
Poole Town
Southampton FC Women
Southampton WFC
Swindon Town

By FA Staff