Youth Teams
Youth Teams

Neil Dewsnip explains his squad selections for games v Qatar and Saudi Arabia

Thursday 16 Mar 2017
England Under-18s are set to face Saudi Arabia and Qatar

England Under-18s head coach Neil Dewsnip has named a squad of 21 for this month’s unique trip to the Gulf to take on Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

At the world-class facilities of the Aspire Sports Village in Doha, England kick-off with a double header against Qatar, then complete a run of three games in six days against Saudi Arabia.

Tottenham Hotspur’s Samuel Shashoua is back in the squad for the first time this season, while Reece James and Edward Nketiah have been introduced to the fold for the first time.

England Under-18s
  • v Qatar - Wednesday 22 March 2017
  • v Qatar - Friday 24 March 2017
  • v Saudi Arabia - Monday 27 March 2017
  • Doha, Qatar

Dewsnip said: “Reece James from Chelsea and Edward Nketiah from Arsenal are new caps. 

“They have been playing very well in recent matches for their clubs. So I’m looking forward to having them at close quarters to work with and giving them an opportunity to shine. 

“Samuel Shashoua from Tottenham hasn’t played this year, but is back with us and I’m looking forward to seeing him play.”

The Under-18s enjoyed a fruitful 2016, losing just one of their six games since defeating Italy 2-1 in September, and triumphed in the Triangular Tournament on home soil in November.

And Dewsnip wants to keep the winning habit going.

He added: “Winning is very important to us. Part of the development pathway is learning to win, be it against Poland on a wintery November night in Stevenage, or against Saudi Arabia in the 40 degree heat of Qatar. 

“We’re looking forward to the challenge.”

Ellery Balcombe (Brentford), Ryan Schofield (Huddersfield Town), Jake Turner (Bolton Wanderers), Morgan Feeney (Everton), Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur), George Tanner (Manchester United), Reece James (Chelsea), Tolaji Bola (Arsenal), Sadou Diallo (Manchester City), Ed Francis (Manchester City)**, Marcus McGuane (Arsenal), Tristan Nydam (Ipswich Town)*, Tariq Uwakwe (Chelsea), Andre Dozzell (Ipswich Town), Elliot Embleton (Sunderland), Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Jonathan Leko (West Bromwich Albion), Samuel Shashoua (Tottenham Hotspur), George Hirst (Sheffield Wednesday), Edward Nketiah (Arsenal), Joshua Tymon (Hull City)

* Replaces Dennis Adeniran (Fulham)
** Replaces Jonathan Dinzeyi (Tottenham Hotspur)

By FA Staff