England squad picked to face Lithuania and Germany

Southgate hands first call-ups to Nathan Redmond and James Ward-Prowse, while some familiar faces return

Thursday 16 Mar 2017
England manager Gareth Southgate has named his squad to face Lithuania and Germany

Gareth Southgate has named four uncapped players in his first squad since being named England manager on a permanent basis – while there are recalls for Jermain Defoe and Jake Livermore.

Michael Keane of Burnely, West Ham United’s Michail Antonio as well as Southampton pair Nathan Redmond and James Ward-Prowse will all be hopeful of winning their first caps away in Germany or against Lithuania at Wembley Stadium connected by EE.

England's March fixtures
  • v Germany: 7.45pm (UK), Wednesday 22 March 2017 - Dortmund, Germany
  • v Lithuania: 5pm, Sunday 26 March 2017 - Wembley Stadium connected by EE

Captain Wayne Rooney is absent through injury, but the squad has been bolstered with the addition of in-form Sunderland striker Defoe, who made his debut against Sweden in April 2004 – Southgate’s final game in a Three Lions shirt.

Livermore’s only previous senior international cap was in a 2-1 victory against Italy in August 2012. The last outfield West Bromwich Albion player to appear for England was Steve Hunt in a 2-0 defeat by USSR in 1984.

Remaining tickets for England v Lithuania are on sale from TheFA.com/Tickets.

Squad: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Torino, on loan from Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Michael Keane (Burnley),  Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Michail Antonio (West Ham United), Ross Barkley (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Jake Livermore (West Bromwich Albion), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Nathan Redmond (Southampton), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Jermain Defoe (Sunderland), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)


By FA Staff