Youth Teams
Youth Teams

Head coach Mike Skubala has picked a 20-man Futsal squad for tournament in Cardiff

Thursday 24 Nov 2016

England’s Futsal squad will head across the border to Cardiff in early December for a mini-tournament against home nation rivals Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

This will be the first of what will be an annual Four Nations Tournament, with the House of Sport venue in the Welsh capital hosting the inaugural matches.

It all kicks-off on Friday 2 December when the Three Lions play Scotland (4pm kick-off) before tackling Northern Ireland 24 hours later on Saturday 3 December.

Four Nations Tournament 

England v Scotland
4pm, Friday 2 December 2016 
Northern Ireland v England 
4pm, Saturday 3 December 2016 
Wales v England 
3.15pm, Sunday 4 December 2016 
All games at House of Sport, Cardiff

The final match sees Wales host England on Sunday 4 December, with that game kicking-off at 3.15pm.

England head coach Mike Skubala has selected a 20-man squad for the competition, which comes on the back of the recent trip to face Germany for two games in Hamburg, losing one and drawing the other.

“We are looking forward to the first ever Four Nations Tournament, which will be an annual tournament for Futsal, which is great,” said Skubala.

“Recently we played Germany in Hamburg, which was an amazing spectacle, and the players applied themselves very well in a few new aspects to move us on as a group in what was a highly testing environment for some of our younger players.


England's Futsal squad ahead of their first game with Germany in Hamburg

“As we look to build for our Qualifiers in January, it’s really important that we test ourselves in three-game situations like the Four Nations and no doubt it will be another competitive environment against local national rivals

“It would be great to see some fans down there in Cardiff to lend some support to the Futsal Lions.”

The squad

Jonathan Adams (Melksham), Luke Ballinger (Melksham), Robert Bettson (York City), Thomas Dennis (Loughborough), Mark Croft (Loughborough), Stuart Cook (Wrexham), Jordan Edge (Manchester), Russell Goldstein (Helvecia), Joseph Kenny (Loughborough), Maximilian Kilman (Genesis), Raoni Medina (Helvecia), Liam Palfreeman (Citta Di Falconara), Douglas Reed (Futsal Dynamo), Agon Rexha (FC Besa Futsal), William Rooke (Loughborough), Jonathan Sim (Helvecia), Toluwa Sotonye (Reading), William Wallace (Real Betis), Richard Ward (Helvecia), James Webb (Loughborough)

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels