Women's Senior
Women's Senior

England learn their group stage opponents for Euro 2017

Tuesday 08 Nov 2016

England have been placed alongside Scotland, Spain and Portugal for the group stage of next summer’s UEFA Women's Euro 2017 finals.

The draw for the expanded 16-team tournament was held in Rotterdam on Tuesday evening. The finals kick off on 16 July in Netherlands with the final to be played on 6 August.

England will play their opening match against tournament debutants Scotland.

And they will meet another first-time entrant, Portugal, who qualified after beating Romania in the play-offs.

The line-up for Group D is completed with Spain, who Mark Sampson’s team beat 2-1 last month.

Group A: Netherlands (hosts), Norway, Denmark, Belgium
Group B: Germany (holders), Sweden, Italy, Russia
Group C: France, Iceland, Austria, Switzerland
Group D: England, Scotland, Spain, Portugal 

By FA Staff