England Under-19s squad named for Euro Finals challenge

Wednesday 06 Jul 2016
England Under-19s progressed through the Elite Round in Spain

The England Under-19s squad for next week’s European Championship Finals in Germany has been named.

Boss Aidy Boothroyd has selected an 18-man group for the Finals, following three separate training camps at St. George’s Park in recent weeks.

And the squad will now reconvene on Friday to travel to Germany ahead of their Group B opener with France in Heidenheim on Tuesday 12 July.

UEFA European U19 Championship

The Finals
10-24 July 2016
Live on Eurosport

The majority of Boothroyd’s squad have featured throughout the campaign, which saw the Young Lions qualify for the Finals in style with an impressive 2-0 victory over Spain to top the Elite Qualifying Round group in March and secure their spot in the last eight.

But Chelsea defender Fikayo Tomori and Charlton Athletic’s Ademola Lookman have both played their way into the squad following their first call-ups for the warm-up games with Mexico last month.

Also in England’s group stage at the Finals are Croatia and the Netherlands, who many of this squad played against in the equivalent U17 Final of 2014 when they became Euro champions.

Following their opener next Tuesday, Boothroyd’s side take on the Dutch on Friday 15 July before facing Croatia on Monday 18 July.

Should they finish in the top two of the group, they will progress to the semi-finals and meet one of the nations from Group A – either hosts Germany, Italy, Austria or Portugal. 

That would also mean qualification for next year’s U20 World Cup in South Korea, although a third-place finish in the Group would also lead to a play-off with the third-placed nation from Group A for the final European spot in that competition.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Sam Howes (West Ham United), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Callum Connolly (Everton), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Taylor Moore (RC Lens), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Ryan Ledson (Everton), Ainsley Maitland Niles (Arsenal), Joshua Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Reece Oxford (West Ham), Jordan Rossiter (Rangers)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Isaiah Brown (Chelsea), Ademola Lookman (Charlton Athletic), Sheyi Ojo (Liverpool), Dominic Solanke (Chelsea)

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels