England Under-20s squad selected to face Brazil

Thursday 25 Aug 2016
Aidy Boothroyd

England Under-20s begin a season of World Cup preparation next month when they host Brazil in Kidderminster.

Aidy Boothroyd’s Young Lions secured their place at next summer’s competition in South Korea after reaching the semi-finals of the U19 Euros in July.

And the U20s head coach has selected a 23-man squad as the build-up begins with a warm-up game against the South Americans at St. George’s Park before they head to the Aggborough Stadium on Sunday 4 September.

England v Brazil

International U20 Match
2.30pm, Sunday 4 September 2016
Aggborough Stadium, Kidderminster
Live on BT Sport
Tickets: £3 adults, £1.50 concessions
Click here to buy tickets

The majority of the squad who featured throughout last season’s U19 Euro campaign are included in Boothroyd’s squad, but there are also a number of recalls for players who have previously featured with England’s younger age groups.

Manchester United goalkeeper Dean Henderson returns to the group, after previously featuring at U17 level in 2014, while his Old Trafford squad-mate Axel Tuanzebe is selected having joined up with the U19s for their pre-Euro games with Mexico earlier this summer.

Everton midfielder Kieran Dowell is also included after last representing the U18s in their games with Russia in June 2015.

Tickets for the game in Kidderminster are on sale now through the club, costing just £3 for adults and £1.50 for concessions. Click here to buy online. 

Group bookings are available for 15 people or more (no age restrictions and bookable in advance only) at just 50p plus £1 booking fee on every transaction by clicking here.

And Charter Standard clubs and leagues can also take advantage of group booking discounts. Click here to download the form.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Luke Southwood (Reading), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Cameron Borthwick-Jackson (Wolverhampton Wanderers, loan from Manchester United), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Max Lowe (Derby County)*, Tafari Moore (FC Utrecht, loan from Arsenal)**, Taylor Moore (Bristol City), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Axel Tuanzebe (Manchester United), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Harry Chapman (Sheffield United, loan from Middlesbrough)***, Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth), Kieran Dowell (Everton), Ryan Ledson (Oxford United), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Joshua Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Reece Oxford (West Ham United)

Forwards: Adam Armstrong (Barnsley, loan from Newcastle United), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Sheffield United)****, Ademola Lookman (Charlton Athletic), Patrick Roberts (Celtic, loan from Manchester City)

*Replaced Callum Connolly (Everton)
**Replaced Jonjoe Kenny (Everton)
***Replaced Jordan Rossiter (Rangers)
****Replaced Tammy Abraham (Bristol City, loan from Chelsea)/Isaiah Brown (Rotherham United, loan from Chelsea)

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels