The Isuzu FA Trophy

Bideford through after edging past Farborough in FA Trophy shootout

Tuesday 03 Nov 2015
Bideford beat Farnborough 5-4 on penalties

Bideford booked their place in the second qualifying round of the FA Trophy as they overcame Farnborough in the most dramatic of circumstances in their replay at Cherrywood Road on Monday evening.

The teams were locked at 2-2 after extra time and it was the visitors, Bideford, who held their nerve to advance 5-4 on penalties.

The two sides played out a 1-1 draw at the Sports Ground on Saturday and there was once again nothing to separate them after 120 minutes.

Farnborough 2-2 Bideford

Bideford win 5-4 on penalties
FA Trophy
First round qualifying
Bideford receive £2,700 from The FA Prize Fund

It was Farnborough who had taken the lead in the first half when a nicely worked short free-kick was finished by Nick Brown, who slotted home with his left foot from just inside the area.

But that advantage lasted less than two minutes as Bideford equalised from the penalty spot.

Gary MacDonald’s clumsy challenge in the box was responsible for the spot-kick and Matt Hockley stepped up to fire beyond Joe Tupper.

A second half with few clear-cut chances meant the game headed to extra time and Boro thought they had booked their place in the next round when Lewis Collins thundered a 35-yard screamer past Kyle Moore.

But Bideford are nothing if not resilient and with just ten minutes remaining a moment of class from Stephen Reed saw him curl a free-kick beyond Tupper to level proceedings at 2-2.

Tupper then denied Sean Downing with a spectacular save as the Robins pressed for a winner but the home defence held firm to force the lottery of penalties.

And it was the visitors who came out on top as they edged home 5-4 to break Farnborough hearts.

The evening’s only other game, Hyde United against Skelmersdale United, was abandoned after 22 minutes as fog descended at Ewen Fields meaning the two sides will have to try again on Wednesday.

Click here to see all the results, fixtures and additional information about the 2015-16 FA Trophy.

By FA Staff