Aidy Boothroyd announces his squad to travel to France

Friday 22 May 2015
Aidy Boothroyd has named his squad for Toulon

Aidy Boothroyd has named his England Under-20s squad that will travel to the Toulon Festival in France.

Newcastle United’s Rolando Aarons, who has just returned from a lengthy injury, is recalled to the 20-man squad, which also includes Liverpool’s Jordon Ibe and Manchester United striker James Wilson.

The Young Lions will compete in Group B of the 43rd annual competition in the south of France, alongside China, Ivory Coast, Mexico and Morocco, so will play a minimum of four more games at the competition.

The Toulon Festival

27 May - 7 June 2015
Toulon, France
Players born on or after 1 January 1993 are eligible

And with Costa Rica, France, Netherlands, Qatar and USA making up Group A, there is the potential of a fifth match with a third-place play-off and final taking place to complete the tournament.

The Young Lions are looking to continue their unbeaten record from their eight games this season, most recently beating USA in Plymouth and Mexico at the Hive in March.

Boothroyd was able to select players born from 1 January 1993 for the trip too, as the competition’s age limit has been opened up further from its traditional U20 format in order to accommodate national squads in their preparation for the 2016 Olympic Games.

Goalkeepers: Christian Walton (Brighton), Jordan Pickford (Sunderland)

Defenders: Dominic Iorfa (Wolves), Moses Odubajo (Brentford), Baily Cargill (AFC Bournemouth), Kortney Hause (Wolves), Isaac Hayden (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Harrison Reed (Southampton), Jack Stephens (Swindon Town, on loan from Southampton), Jamie Hanson (Derby County), Lewis Baker (Chelsea), Matty Grimes (Swansea), Jordon Ibe (Liverpool), Duncan Watmore (Sunderland), John Swift (Swindon Town, on loan from Chelsea)

Forwards: Demarai Gray (Birmingham), James Wilson (Manchester United), Callum Robinson (Aston Villa), Chuba Akpom (Arsenal), Rolando Aarons (Newcastle) 

By FA Staff