Clement and Hayes among winners at FA coaching awards

Sunday 06 Dec 2015
Partner Message SGP Homepage A 300x250

Derby County head coach Paul Clement and Chelsea Ladies manager Emma Hayes were among 18 coaches recognised for their contribution to coaching at this year’s FA coaching awards at St. George’s Park on Sunday evening.

The Rams’ boss, who joined the club in June from his assistant-coach role at Real Madrid, picked up The FA Senior First Team Coach of the Year, presented by FA technical director Dan Ashworth.

And Hayes, who won The FA Cup and Women’s Super League double last season with the Blues, was presented with the Female Elite Coach of the Year award by England women’s head coach Mark Sampson. 

Emma Hayes won the WSL and FA Cup double last season with Chelsea Ladies

Emma Hayes won the WSL and FA Cup double last season with Chelsea Ladies

Clement and Hayes were joined by 12 coaches from across grassroots and professional football who were also recognised for their coaching achievements this year, with four new names also added to The FA’s coaching Hall of Fame.

They included Clement’s first team coach at Derby County, John Peacock, FA player development adviser Craig Simmons, Black and Asian Coaches Association co-founder and FA tutor Dr Colin King, and Coventry United Ladies Director of Football Tom Stack.

“I would like to congratulate every coach who picked up an award this evening,” explained Ashworth at the event.

“Each one has achieved fantastic things not only this year but, in several cases, over numerous years. They have all shown incredible commitment to supporting their players, teams and clubs. They are all worthy winners."

The ceremony, which took place as part of the four-day FA coaching conference at the national football centre, was the third time The FA has hosted the awards and for Ashworth they continue to play an important role. 

“These awards are really valuable because they allow us as The FA to recognise some amazing coaches whose commitment, dedication and passion to supporting our national sport would otherwise go without acknowledgement.” 

The full list of winners includes:

Grassroots Awards

Mini Soccer Coach of the Year

Artur Alves

Youth Phase Coach of the Year

Richard Beard

Female Coach of the Year

Denise Marsh

Disability Coach of the Year

Tony Elliott

BAME Coach of the Year

Amirah Rahman

Pro Game Awards

Foundation Phase Coach of the Year

Tom Statham

Youth Development Phase Coach of the Year

Kevin Betsy

Professional Development Phase Coach of the Year

Martin Hunter

Senior First Team Coach of the Year

Paul Clement

Female Development Coach of the Year

Victoria Jepson

Female Elite Coach of the Year

Emma Hayes

Goalkeeping Coach of the Year

Craig Mawson

Other Awards

Outstanding Contribution to Youth Development Award

John McDermott

Outstanding Contribution to Talent Identification and Recruitment

Ron Bone

Hall of Fame

John Peacock

Craig Simmons

Dr Colin King

Tom Stack

By FA Staff