Get Involved

Respect Award winners 2015 crowned at Wembley

Monday 03 Aug 2015
The 2015 Respect Awards winners together at Wembley Stadium
A community champion who used the power of football to help tackle gang culture in Birmingham has won a prestigious Respect Award.

Mohammed Zafran was among honoured guests at Wembley to collect the Bobby Moore Individual Award ahead of Sunday's FA Community Shield supported by McDonald’s.

The awards, now in their seventh year, recognise the commitment of individuals, clubs and administrators to promote Respect and Fair Play across all levels of the game. 

Arsenal lift The FA Community Shield supported by McDonalds

The Respect Awards were made before Arsenal won Sunday's FA Community Shield

And the tireless efforts of Mohammed immediately captured the attention of the judges. Zaf, as he is widely known, runs coaching programmes which have helped more than 13,500 youngsters in north-east Birmingham - in many instances offering them a positive alternative to gang culture.

Figures reveal that since its inception in 2008, the Respect campaign has really hit home. Cautions for dissent have dropped by almost a quarter and bookings across the board are down by seven per cent.

The other winners at the ceremony, hosted by FA Chairman Greg Dyke, came from the teams, leagues and counties that form the football pyramid.

Dyke said: "This has been a long-term commitment to tackle worrying trends and it is clearly having an effect. The Respect winners have led this change."

FA Chairman Greg Dyke presents the Bobby Moore Award to Mo Zafran.

Mo Zafran is presented with the Bobby Moore Award by Greg Dyke

From the professional ranks of the game, West Ham United, Charlton Athletic, Walsall and Exeter City were all recognised for topping the Fair Play League for their respective divisions. 

And Liverpool also joined them on the winners’ rostrum after judges singled out their supporters for recognition.

Among individual clubs to win awards, were Curzon Ashton FC of the Northern Premier League, Letcombe FC of the UHL SPORT Hellenic League and Bengeo Tigers FC from Hertfordshire were also celebrating.

The FA Respect Award winners in full

The Premier League Fair Play: West Ham United
The Premier League Supporters Award: Liverpool
The Football League Championship: Charlton Athletic
Football League One: Walsall
Football League Two: Exeter City
Bobby Moore Individual Award: Mohammed Zafran
County FA Award: Kent County FA
National League System (Steps 1-4): Northern Premier League
National League System/Women’s Pyramid Leagues: The FA Women’s Premier League
National League System Club (Steps 1-4): Curzon Ashton, Northern Premier League Premier Division
National League System Club (Steps 5-7): Letcombe FC, Hellenic League Division One)
Grassroots League: East Lancashire Football Alliance League
Grassroots Club Awards: Bengeo Tigers                             

By FA Staff