New titles for women at PFA Awards Dinner in 2014

Thursday 13 Mar 2014
Liverpool Ladies won the WSL in 2014

The PFA is pleased to announce that the 2014 PFA Awards will include the introduction of the Women's Young Player of the Year and The FA Women's Super League Team of the Year.

The 2013 PFA Awards featured the inaugural PFA Women's Players' Player of the Year Award, won by Arsenal Ladies' Kim Little.

And the Awards in 2014 will now name a Women's Young Player of the Year and also give female players the chance to nominate their FA WSL Team of the Year.

Kim Little

Kim Little was a PFA winner in 2013


Women’s football continues to develop and has taken big strides forward since the introduction of the WSL and complete parity at the awards is further recognition from the PFA.

At the start of the last season, the PFA opened up membership to all registered FA WSL1 players, ensuring that female players get the same benefits of membership as their male counterparts.

This includes access to contractual advice and representation, access to the PFA's educational fund, support from the PFA’s Coaching Department in relation to UEFA licensed coaching courses and to access to the outstanding rehabilitation facilities at St George's Park.

In addition, England captain Casey Stoney became the first female player to be voted on to the PFA's Management Committee, and club delegates were installed at each WSL1 club.

Voting for this year's PFA Awards starts in late March and the winners will be announced at Grosvenor House in London on 27 April 2014.

By FA Staff