England U19s squad named for Hungary game

Thursday 31 Oct 2013
England U19s line-up against Switzerland in the First Qualifying Round in Slovenia
Hungary v England
U19 International
KO TBC, Thursday 14 November 2013
Venue TBC, Hungary

England U19s are back in action in November, when they travel to face Euro 2014 hosts Hungary in their first preparation game for next year's Euro Elite qualifiers.

The Young Lions topped their First Qualifying Round group in Slovenia earlier this month to take their place as a seeded team in the draw for the all-important Elite Round in December.

And Head Coach Noel Blake will be using this game to learn more about his players and take a look at some new faces, with his sights set on returning to Hungary next summer for the Finals.

Blake has picked an 18-man squad for the trip, with a number of the players who served him well in Slovenia retaining their place in the squad.

The likes of Mason Bennett, Mitchell Beeney, Luke Coddington, Calum Chambers, Shay Facey, Jordon Ibe, Josh Murphy, John Swift, James Wilson and Lewis Baker all featured in the games with Slovenia, Andorra and Switzerland.

There is also a return to the squad for Southampton left-back Matt Targett, who missed the qualifiers through injury and Norwich forward Jacob Murphy joins his twin brother Josh in the squad.

But with a number of players pushing for a place in the squad, Blake has chosen to assess a few new faces and there's a first England call-up at any level for Leeds United midfielder Alex Mowatt.

There are also places in the squad for the likes of Jerome Williams, Joe Rothwell, Luke Coddington and Chris Long who have all featured for the Three Lions in other age groups but now get their first taste of U19 football.

The group meet up on Saturday 10 November to prepare for the game.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Mitchell Beeney (Chelsea), Luke Coddington (Middlesbrough).

Defenders: Calum Chambers (Southampton), Shay Facey (Manchester City), Ola Aina (Chelsea), Matt Targett (Southampton), Jerome Williams (Crystal Palace).

Midfielders: Jordon Ibe (Liverpool), Josh Murphy (Norwich City), Jacob Murphy (Norwich City), Lewis Baker (Chelsea), Joe Rothwell (Manchester United), John Swift (Chelsea), Paul Digby (Barnsley), Alex Mowatt (Leeds United).

Forwards: James Wilson (Manchester United), Mason Bennett (Derby County), Chris Long (Everton).
By Nicholas Veevers