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To all national football associations  

and confederations 

 

Zurich, 2 August 2019 

 

 

Law 16 – The Goal kick – clarifications  

 

The changes to the Laws of the Game 2019/20 have proved successful as seen at the FIFA Women’s 

World Cup™, FIFA u20 World Cup™ and in confederation and national competitions. The changes to 

Law 16 – The Goal Kick have often led to the game being restarted quickly and positively but there 

are two situations which have generated questions from across the football world which we would 

like to clarify. 

 

Goalkeeper ‘lifting’ the ball to a team mate who heads/chests it back to the goalkeeper  

There has been much debate about whether, at a goal kick, the goalkeeper is permitted to ‘lift’ the 

ball to a team mate to head or chest it back to the goalkeeper to catch and then put into play. The 

views of technical and refereeing experts about whether this is within the ‘spirit’ of the Laws is 

divided so the matter will be discussed by The IFAB Technical Sub Committee. Until then, this 

practice should not be permitted nor should it be penalised - if it occurs the referee should order 

the goal kick to be re-taken (but no disciplinary action). 

Opponent in the penalty area when a goal kick is taken  

Law 16 requires all opponents to be outside the penalty area until the goal kick is taken and if an 

opponent remains inside or enters the penalty area before the kick is taken and plays, challenges or 

touches the ball, the goal kick is retaken.  

 

However, Law 16 also applies the ‘quick’ free kick principles outlined in Law 13 Free Kicks – 

Offences and sanctions that if any opponents are in the penalty areas because they did not have 

time to leave, the referee allows play to continue.   

  

In practical terms, this means that referees should manage goal kicks (and defending team free 

kicks in their own penalty area) in the same way as they manage free kicks: 

·      Unless the kick is taken quickly, opposing players should be required to be outside the penalty 

area and remain outside until the kick has been taken 

·      If the kick is taken quickly and an opponent genuinely did not have time to leave the penalty 

area, the opponent may not interfere with or prevent the taking of the kick but may intercept 

the ball once it is in play. This is allowed because the defending team, as at a quick free kick, 

tried to gain an advantage by taking the kick quickly and if this ‘goes wrong’ the Law is not 

there to ‘save’ them.  

·      Players who deliberately remain inside or enter the penalty area before the kick is taken 

should not gain an unfair advantage, even if the kick is taken quickly  
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If an opposing player commits an offence (as outlined above) the goal kick is retaken; there is no 

disciplinary sanction unless the offence occurs a number of times (persistent misconduct) 

  

Referees are skilled at managing 9.15m at free kicks and they should apply these skills and 

principles to the management of goal kicks and defending team free kicks in their own penalty area.  

 

We hope that these clarifications will be helpful in the application of Law 16 and would ask that you 

communicate them to your referees, participants and the media. 

 

If any further clarifications are required, please e mail the Technical Director of The IFAB: 

David.Elleray@theifab.com  

 

Best wishes 

 

Yours sincerely, 

                                               
 

David Elleray        Pierluigi Collina 

Technical Director of The IFAB     Chairman, FIFA Referee Committee  
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